Blueberry Crumble

Blueberry Crumble

As the summer growing season winds down, I find myself grabbing those fruits that I know will be not only less plentiful but higher in price very soon.

Blueberries, blackberries and raspberries are going to quickly transition to fall apples, pears and cranberries. So when a friend of mine supplied me with some late season blueberries, I was thrilled. I immediately turned the ones I didn’t gobble up immediately into a crumble. I love pies and muffins with a crunchy topping but too often the crunch is too skimpy for me! I want lots of crumble on my crumble! This one does and it only serves to enhance the delicious berries, no matter which ones you select to use.

Blueberry Crumble

Yield: 8 servings

1 (9-inch) pie crust

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1 cup all-purpose flour, divided

1 tablespoon lemon juice

2 teaspoons lemon zest

4-5 cups fresh (or frozen – do not thaw) blueberries

3/4 cup old-fashioned oats

2/3 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

6 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut in cubes

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Place and press the pie crust into and up the sides of a deep dish pie pan. Set aside. In a large bowl, stir together the granulated sugar, 1/2 cup of the flour, the lemon juice and zest. Stir in the blueberries and gently toss to evenly coat. Transfer to the prepared pie crust. In the same bowl, stir together the remaining flour, brown sugar, oats and cinnamon. Using a pastry cutter, cut in the butter until the mixture is crumbly. Spread evenly over the blueberry mixture. Bake 40 minutes or until golden brown on top. Cool completely on a wire rack before slicing and serving.

Leave a comment