Pimento Cornmeal Muffins

I love cornmeal. Maybe it’s the crunch it adds, or that it’s inexpensive and easy to use. I’m sure that it’s partially because it reminds me of my grandmother. She always had it in the pantry and it was one of the first things I remember she allowed me to measure. Cornmeal makes me happy, so when I continue to harvest my pimento peppers from the garden, I knew I wanted to fold them into muffins. This is a recipe I have been using for years and it’s slightly sweet. I sometimes add cheese, fruit, herbs, or jalapenos. But today, I used some chopped pimentos and I love the moisture it adds as well as the pop of color. It will go nicely with the spicy pork I am planning to have for dinner. I just hope there are plenty leftover to serve with it!

 Pimento Cornmeal Muffins

Yield: 8 regular or 16 mini-muffins       

2/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup cornmeal
1/4 cup sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 egg
1/4 cup milk
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup chopped pimento peppers (if using canned, drain well)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Grease muffin cups and set aside. In a mixing bowl, stir together the flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder and salt. Make a well in the center and add the egg, milk, oil and pimento peppers. Mix well and pour into greased muffin cups. Bake 15-20 minutes (depending on regular or mini sized) or until golden brown on top. Remove immediately from the muffin pan and cool on a wire rack. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Leave a Reply

