Broccoli

Mom was right! Get Big on Broccoli!

My garden is bursting with fresh broccoli and I am harvesting about every other day. This is not a complaint!  It is literally the posterchild for good, healthy eating and I love preparing it in the oven, on the grill and on the stovetop. Lately, I have had a craving for stir fry, so into my large skillet it goes. And while most of the time, I combine it with lots of other veggies from my fridge, I have decided to let it stand alone … deliciously alone!

Stir-Fried Broccoli

Yield: 3-4 servings

2 tablespoons canola or grapeseed oil
1 pound trimmed broccoli
2 garlic cloves, peeled and minced
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon seasoned salt
1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Place the oil in a heavy skillet or wok over high heat. When hot, add the broccoli and stir fry 3 minutes, stirring constantly. Add the garlic, crushed red pepper and sugar after 1 minute. Remove the pan from the heat and sprinkle with the salt and pepper. Serve warm.

Leave a Reply

