Roasted Okra

Roasted Okra

I grew up with okra prepared one of two ways: thrown in gumbo or fried. And there is nothing wrong with either one, but I haven’t taken my harvest that direction even once this year. I cannot stop enjoying it roasted long enough to take it down that path. I don’t see that changing because roasting is so easy. I use it as a side dish or as croutons for a summer salad. So I guess my cast iron skillet will continue to have a seasonal vacation. We all need to have those!

Roasted Okra

Yield: 4 servings

24 okra pods, sliced 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick
1 teaspoon onion or garlic salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1-2 tablespoons olive oil

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Coat a jelly roll pan with cooking spray. Place the okra in a single layer on the pan and sprinkle evenly with the salt and pepper. Drizzle with the oil and roast 20-25 minutes. Serve warm.

One thought on “Roasted Okra

Leave a Reply

