Southern Creamed Corn

Truly Sweet Corn

I gave up trying to grow sweet corn in my garden long ago thanks to raccoons who made me crazy. They adored sneaking in and destroying my crop the day before it was ready to harvest. So I decided to purchase my yearly supplies from farmers who obviously have a better way of handling those pesky creatures than I do. My absolute favorite variety is most appropriately named “Incredible” and it certainly is. I purchased mine very early one morning, packed it in a cooler for the drive home and was rewarded with sugary sweet kernels. I love to grill the ears while meat is cooking on the other side of the flame, but had to cream a supply to go with a salmon dinner on a too hot day. It was like sunshine on my plate! Enjoy!

Southern Creamed Corn

Yield: 6 servings

1 tablespoon unsalted butter
10 large ears fresh sweet corn, cut from the cob
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon white pepper
2 tablespoons heavy cream

Place the butter in a large skillet over medium heat. When melted, add the corn, salt and pepper. Cook, stirring frequently for 3 minutes. Add the cream and continue to cook another 3 minutes. Serve warm.

Leave a Reply

