Barry Manilow Pasta

Barry Manilow! You inspired dinner!

No judgement allowed here! Think back to when you had your very first celebrity crush. It doesn’t matter who it was … It was real to you and a life changing moment that transitioned you from childhood to adolescence. Mine was Barry Manilow. I knew every word to every song and had all of his albums (dating myself seriously here!). I knew that if he could just see me in my light blue Hang Ten short set, he would ask me to marry him on the spot and we would live happily ever after with me listening to him sing songs to me.

So when I was listening to my Ulimate Manilow CD this Sunday evening, I let his music inspire creativity in me once again and help get dinner on the table. It had to be something fun, yet elegant as I KNEW Barry was, so to the pantry and refrigerator I went to honor my music legend. Below is the result and even my husband liked it. We enjoyed it on the patio while Barry serenaded us in the background. Needless to say, it was the perfect way to wrap up the weekend. (Looks like we made it!)

Barry Manilow Pasta (This One’s For You)

Yield: 4 servings (Somewhere in the Night)

1 pound pasta of your choice (It’s a Miracle)
1 teaspoon kosher salt (Could it be Magic)
16 cherry tomatoes, quartered (Daybreak)
1 shallot, peeled and minced (Even Now)
1/4 cup minced mixed herbs such as chives, parsley, basil, oregano (Ready to take a Chance Again)
2 tablespoons dry white wine (Can’t Smile Without You)
2 tablespoons olive oil (Tryin’ To Get The Feeling Again)
1/ 2 teaspoon cracked black pepper (I Made It Through the Rain)
1/ 4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (Bandstand Boogie)
1 cup cooked English peas (Weekend in New England)
2 tablespoons freshly grated Parmesan cheese (The Old Songs)

Place the pasta in a large pot of boiling water and follow the package instructions for preparation. Meanwhile, sprinkle the salt over the tomatoes that are in a large serving bowl. Add the shallots, herbs, wine, oil, black pepper, cayenne and the peas. Toss and set aside. Drain the pasta and add to the serving bowl. Let sit 3 minutes and toss. Sprinkle with the Parmesan and serve warm.

Leave a Reply

