Mocha Cookies

Mocha Cookies

Mocha Cookies

Mocha Cookies

Thanks to Michelle and John, I went to the liquor store because I wanted to try the unique red and very affordable wines they recommended. As soon as I tried them both, I instantly was inspired to make a cookie recipe I developed several years ago. Something in the flavor of those wines made me think they would go well with my Mocha Chocolate Chip Cookies. 

Mocha is an interesting flavor. For those who love coffee, it’s a no brainer. For those who don’t, it’s an instant “I’m not quite so sure about that” reaction. I beg those in the latter group to give this the old college try. The coffee flavor is subtle, but noticeable at the exact same time.

The instant coffee granules called for in the recipe are dissolved in coffee liquor. The combination is magic. If you don’t have coffee liquor in your cabinet, this recipe is worth the investment because I can promise you will be making them over and over again. If you don’t want to go that route, seek out coffee extract at the supermarket. Yes, there is such a thing and McCormick makes an excellent and affordable version. Substitute the extract in equal amounts. You should already have instant coffee granules in your freezer in order to make red-eye gravy.

I made these for my husband and didn’t tell him a thing … all he knew was there were chocolate looking cookies on the wire cooling racks. He ate three right off the bat and because friends were coming over to help with some projects, I knew I needed to hide a few so I would have some left to test with the wine. It is an addictive pairing and I would be hard pressed to say which wine it is better with it at the end of a meal. Try it yourself and let us know what you think!

Mocha Chocolate Chip Cookies

Yield: 3 – 4 dozen

2-1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons instant coffee granules

2 teaspoons coffee liqueur

1 cup white sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 cup unsalted butter

2 eggs

1 (12-ounce) package semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl, combine the flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt. Set aside. In a small bowl, dissolve the coffee granules in the liqueur and set aside. In the bowl of an electric mixer, beat the white sugar, brown sugar and butter for 2 minutes. Add the eggs and the coffee mixture, beating until smooth. Add the flour mixture and the chocolate chips, blending at low speed until combined. Do not overmix. Drop by rounded tablespoons onto ungreased cookie sheets 2 inches apart. Bake for 23-25 minutes. Immediately transfer to a wire rack to cool.

Leave a Reply

